Apply now: ISPRS Summer School of Alpine Research 2017: Close Range Sensing Techniques in Alpine Terrain

Download flyer (PDF)

The main goal of the Joint Summer School 2017 is to provide participants with innovative practical and methodological skills to characterise complex terrain and objects using close-, near range and remote sensing techniques. The Summer School will be the second edition after a successful first version in 2015.

Teaching Methods
Theoretical lectures will be complemented by fieldwork assignments and hands-on data processing sessions using different novel software. The assignments will be divided into two different tracks. One track will focus on mountain research, the other on sensor and data processing techniques.

A variety of sensor systems will be available for data acquisition in the high mountain surroundings of the summer school venue, including terrestrial laser scanners, unmanned aerial vehicles and spectral cameras.

Thematic focus
will be on mountain research, and will include vegetation mapping, monitoring and deformation analysis for glaciology, geomorphology and natural hazard research.

Technical focus
will be on sensor and data aspects, such as sensor modelling, calibration, data acquisition, 2D and 3D data fusion, geometric methods for information extraction from point clouds and (multispectral) images and data quality assessment.

Theoretical focus
will address critical steps within a processing chain, such as impact of a registration method, choice of stand points during data acquisition and derivation of deformation vectors, issues related to multispectral image analysis etc.

Practical exercises
using predominantly open source software, deepen the conveyed knowledge and help all participants establish a workflow for their research.

The Summer School will take place in and around Obergurgl, at almost 2000 m the highest village in Austria. The main venue is the Obergurgl University Center. Here lectures will take place and accommodation and food is provided to all participants. Directions will be available via the website.


Intended Audience
This summer school is designed for any well-motivated PhD student, post-docs and young researchers from any field, provided they have interest in these type of techniques.

16.07. – 22.07.2017

Obergurgl University Center (Obergurgl, Austria)
Show large map

How to join
Please register by sending an e-mail to until December 30, 2016. Each applicant is requested to send a one page CV and a short motivation letter including five keywords on sensors and topics you are especially interested in. This information will be used by the organisational committee to decide which candidates will be accepted. At a later stage, participants will be informed about acceptance and receive further details about payment and the further registration process. The summer school offers travel assistance for selected people from LDC countries.

Participation fee
420 € (includes accommodation and meals)

Important dates:

  • Registration deadline: 30 December 2016
  • Decision of acceptance: 15 January 2017
  • Deadline for full payment: 15 February 2017

Confirmed Keynotes

  • Guglielmina Adele Diolaiuti (Department of Earth Science “Ardito Desio”, University of Milano)
  • Hans-Gerd Maas (Institute of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, Technical University Dresden)
  • Pierre-Philippe Mathieu (European Space Agency)
  • Fred Meier (Department of Ecology, Technical University Berlin)
  • Norbert Pfeifer (Department of Geodesy and Geoinformation, Vienna University of Technology)
  • Cees van Westen (ITC – Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation, Univeristy of Twente)

Organisational Committee and Lecturers

  • Martin Rutzinger (Institute of Interdisciplinary Mountain Research, Austrian Academy of Sciences)
  • Bernhard Höfle (Institute of Geography, University of Heidelberg)
  • Roderik Lindenbergh (Department of Geoscience and Remote Sensing, Delft University of Technology)
  • Sander Oude Elberink (ITC – Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation, Univeristy of Twente)
  • Francesco Pirotti (Department of Land, Environment, Agriculture and Forestry, University of Padova)
  • Marco Scaioni (Building Environment Science and Technology, Politecnico di Milano)
  • Rudolf Sailer (Institute of Geography, University of Innsbruck)
  • Johann Stötter (Institute of Geography, University of Innsbruck)
  • Daniel Wujanz (Institute of Geodesy and Geoinformation Science, Technical University Berlin)



, , , ,